Eat Well. Play More. Health and Wellness Coaching

Feel better … because there's no better feeling.

Work. — Do something you love, that helps others.

It is Labor Day. It has been all day long. Often, we don’t labor on Labor Day, instead we enjoy a nice ‘end of summer holiday break’. But today, on this Labor Day, I had some work I needed to do.

First, I needed to do the work of moving this body. I’m the first to admit (and complain about) the fact that my summer work schedule devastated my workout time. In order to work the required 10 hour days this summer, I had to make the decision to trade in my morning workout time to go into work super early so that I could be home in the early evening for family time.  It is true…when push comes to shove, family time trumps workout time.

So, as we approach the much anticipated days of schedules and structure, I started this day with one of my favorite cycle/spin classes that begins at 5:45 a.m.  Perfect for me.  And to make it even better, at one point, we rode to “Free Bird”.  Come on, now. It doesn’t get much better than a little Skynyrd before 7 a.m.

On a high from the excellent exercise endorphins that early in the morning, I headed straight into my office for the next thing on my agenda.

I needed to take and pass my final exam in a year long course that I have been taking to become a Certified Holistic Health Coach.

Right after I started booting up my computer and turning on the iPad, I filled up the Young Living essential oils diffuser with some Citrus Fresh oil. Ready to focus and get this done.

After a little Facebook distraction and long overdue cleaning out email inboxes, I focused in on the job at hand.

Attempt Test. Now.

45 minutes later.

I am a graduate. I am officially a Certified Holistic Health Coach. I have graduated from the Institute of Integrative Nutrition.

I am not sure I have the words right now to fully describe the journey that has been this year. It has been a roller coaster, full of beautiful synchronicities. I have met some amazing people that have changed both my life and my course of action.

And you all know how I feel about action words.

And while I am not making major, sweeping changes to my world, I am walking the talk, practicing my preaching. I am adding in good, whole healthy things and crowding out the negative. soul-draining stuff. You see, when it comes to Eating Well and Playing More and Choosing Happy…food is only part of the story. So many other things ‘feed our souls’ above and beyond the fruits and vegetables that we digest. These are secondary to the things that really keep us moving, keep us motivated, keep us … healthy.

I am talking about primary foods:

Creativity.

Spirituality.

Confidence.

Education.

Social Life.

Finances.

Health.

Physical Activity.

Home Cooking.

Home Environment.

Relationships.

and Career.

Speaking of Careers and … Labor and Work: Do you know what the secret to happiness in your career is?

1. It should be something that is challenging, but meaningful.

2. It should be of service to others.

3. It should be something where you can apply your creativity.

I have worked in education my entire life and I believe that this line of work certainly meets all of those criteria. 

Now, on this Labor Day 2013, while continuing my work as an educator, I am officially adding another line to my resume and a few more letters behind my name: Certified Health Coach.

This has been both a personal journey of intention and one that I hope will continue to be challenging and meaningful, helpful to others and still allow me to be creative in this work.

Many thanks to my husband and kiddos and many family members and friends who have offered support in so many ways; to my sister-in-law and Health Coach, Taunya, for introducing me to the Institute of Integrative Nutrition; for my good friend and Melissa, aka Gravel, for joining me on this road as my partner;  to Cynthia who was placed in my path with such amazing intention that I still marvel at the coincidence synchronicity of life:  and for my Jennifer, my Wonder Twin and peer coach and co-conspirator on future projects.

There are AMAZING adventures ahead.

Let’s all feel better, because there is no better feeling. 

Let’s go!

Eat Well. Play More. Health and Wellness Coaching (Check us out on Facebook) …

and let us know when you are ready to take charge of your health, your family’s health and start to …

feel better.

Buen Camino.

Buen Camino

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 2, 2013 by in Nutrition and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , .

Get a Free Book. Change Your Life. Click Below!

Play More.

Nutrition Wellness Family

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 237 other followers

